If you are prepared to enter into Michigan’s commercial marijuana industry, then you must also prepare to pay the costs associated with licensing. The initial costs include the application fees and the assessment. All other costs, according to the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, are associated with the Medical Marihuana Facilities Licensing Act.
The MMFLA authorizes application fee amounts based on the category and class of the license. The state application fee provides funding for the cost of the Michigan State Police, LARA and other contract costs to provide background checks. This non-refundable fee is $6,000. You may also have to pay municipality fees. Your local municipality will have the exact cost of said fees. These fees can be up to $5,000.
Before you receive a license, you must pay the regulatory assessment. The costs offset the operational costs and mandates that implement the MMFLA. This assessment costs vary by category and the number of licenses. A Grower A license, for instance costs at mot $10,000. A grower B, C, a processor, a provisioning center or transporter license varies in cost. You may be looking at assessment costs of $10,000 or as high as $66,000.
On top of the fees already mentioned, you may have to pay additional costs. Late renewal fees, investigation and processing fees and a 3% tax on gross retail receipts are all a part of the licensing fees. Before you receive your license, you have to pay the costs.
All the information here is to provide you with a general idea of the cost of licensing. Nothing here is legal advice.